Methods of De-stressing

The end of year is inevitably a busy time of year. There are papers due and exams to prepare for in addition to applying for jobs, trying to figure out your course selection process for next year, and extra-curricular activities like applying to be a d-frosh.  In this whirlwind of responsibilities you have, you must remember to take a moment for yourself and de-stress.  So in this post, I’m going to share with you the three main ways I deal with stress so you don’t end up like this person…

Image

Method One: Drink Tea

Personally I don’t like coffee, but if you like coffee, I’m sure you can replace coffee for tea in this section.

Tea is one of my favourite methods of de-stressing.  I find that a warm drink makes me feel cozy and calms me down.  It also helps me focus on the work I have to do.  I have two main productivi-teas (ha, see what I did there?).  When I’m at school I will almost always have an extra-large peppermint tea from Tim Hortons with me, if I don’t I have either just finished one or I am on my way to get one (or it’s too warm to have tea, I get really warm really quickly, so if you’re cold, come hug me J ).  When I’m at home my productivi-tea is Orange Pekoe with milk, it gives me that caffeine boost that I need while I’m working, and contrary to most people, when I’m ready to go to sleep, the caffeine has no effect on me.  I really like tea in general, at home we have many flavours of teas.  Some of my other favourites include coco chai rooibos and cream of earl grey from David’s Tea.

If you don’t like tea, I’m sure any other warm drink will do the trick.  And if you don’t like warm drinks, find a drink that helps you concentrate and make it your productivity drink.

Image

Method Two: Music

Music is what keeps me sane.  Yes, I know it sounds cliché, but music honestly is how I deal with most things.  I have a playlist or a go-to for almost everything, if I’m happy, if I need to cheer up, if I need to get pumped up, and for feeling calm. I either go to my playlist, or I will put the song that I really like at the moment on repeat.  Some of the songs on my playlist of calmness are:

Beautiful – Hedley
Not Alone – Darren Criss
and more recently I See Fire – Ed Sheeran

These songs have gotten me through a lot of stressful times.  When I listen to these songs, I get consumed in the music.  The amazing lyrics as well as the guitar in Beautiful, the strings and guitar in I See Fire, and Darren’s beautiful voice in Not Alone release some kind of happy signals, and it makes me feel more relaxed and I find it easier to focus on the tasks at hand.  Also, I find picking up my guitar and playing around with it for a bit helps me because it’s a nice break and music just makes things better…

Do you find that music helps you de-stress? What songs do you find help you relax?

Method Three: Venting

I find that talking about what’s making me stressed is a really effective way of feeling less stressed.  I find it helpful to tell my mom about all the things I have to do during the week, it helps me sort out my thoughts and it’s also good for someone else to know what you’re up to so they can remind you about things you have forgotten or they can provide support to you.  If you don’t have someone you want to talk to it doesn’t have to be face to face venting either.  One of my best friends and I do this thing where every day for a month we email each other, so I sometimes send her emails venting about stuff to her.  I also find that I feel better posting in a ‘personal’ space like tumblr helps me deal with things too.  I saw a post the other day that compared tumblr to talking to your cat (or other pet, I’m more of a dog person but that’s beside the point), it’s a space where you can talk about what you need to but you won’t always get a reply and that’s perfectly okay.

So I hope that helps, and I wish you good luck in your endeavors of completing the year.

Image

Leave a Reply

