Gratitude

A quote from my mom to start off the Thanksgiving Weekend
A quote from my mom to start off the Thanksgiving Weekend

It’s Thanksgiving Weekend!  Thanksgiving is one of my favourite holidays because it’s fall, it’s a break from school, there’s yummy food, and it’s like a kickoff to the holiday season with birthdays, Diwali, Hallowe’en, Christmas and New Year’s coming up! But most importantly, it’s a time to hang out with family and friends, and to appreciate how lucky we are.  Here are some of the many things for which I am thankful.

  1. Family

My family is hecka rad. Look how good we are at taking selfies. I mean, can you get any cooler than this?

Selfie Game Strong
Selfie Game Strong

But in all seriousness, I love my family so much.  They are my support system, my laugh track, my idea board and so much more.  I appreciate every moment we spend together and even when they annoy me, there’s only so long I can try to ignore them.  From travelling, to my love of the arts, and countless memories, my family has given me many opportunities that I am so grateful for.  My extended family is also super rad. Obviously I don’t see them as much as I would like to, but when we get to spend time together during the holidays, it’s always really fun.

  1. Friends

Where do I even start with this one?  I have met so many fantastic humans in my life and I feel so special to call them my friends.  Some people have best friends that they’ve known practically forever, some people have best friends from middle/high school, and some people don’t meet their best friends until university.  I feel privileged to say that I have a best friend from Junior Kindergarten but also from grade six, grade nine and university.  I don’t know what I would do without them.  We have had so many good times, and they have definitely helped to shape who I am today.

Baes <3
Baes ❤
  1. Internet

Internet.  Need I say more? Without the internet, how would I be able to share my stories with you?  Whether it’s blogging, research, learning a new skill or social media, the internet is now an invaluable tool.  Like me, I’m sure that you spend a lot of time on the internet, perhaps too much, but we don’t have to talk about that…  But in all seriousness, the internet allows me to communicate with people 24/7 no matter where I am or where they are and that I think that is incredible.
School is something that is much easier now with access to the internet.  Millions of resources are accessible online all at the click of a button.  What’s even better is that through the York University library the resources are free! (the best thing a student can hear).

 

How would I get priceless screencaps without the Internet and Skype?
How would I get priceless screencaps without the Internet and Skype?

 

  1. Education

Today is the International Day of the Girl.  58 million primary school-aged children are not in school, 31 million of them are girls.  774 million adults (15 years and older) cannot read or write. Two-thirds of them are women.  As a girl living in Toronto, Canada, I feel immensely grateful to live in a place where I have the access to education and all other basic human rights.  I have had the privilege of attending school for free all through elementary school and high school and having the opportunity to continue my studies at university.  I have also had opportunities to learn beyond the classroom in various ways.  My parents have been my teachers since I was born (teaching is also their profession), inspiring me to be the best I can be.  I have had education through experiences such as music education, sports and volunteering have been equally important to my learning and growth.

GLmetowe Education Campaign 2013-2014

I wish you all a very Happy Thanksgiving!
What are you thankful for?

Happy Thanksgiving!
Happy Thanksgiving!

Song of the Week – Shine – Benjamin Francis Leftwich

Leave a Reply

