The Final Countdown!

Last Sunday was the 2 month mark before I hop on a plane and leave home for the year! I can’t believe that it was about 2 months ago that my offer to go on exchange became completely official.  I have 55 days to do all the things I need and want to do!

I mentioned that I’m taking 2 courses during the summer term in my last post.  I’ve been really enjoying my two classes, but now it’s crunch time.  I had a presentation due on Tuesday, and I have a ~15 page paper due for each of my classes on June 24th and 25th.  Thankfully, our professors have decided not to administer final exams, so there won’t be exam stress.

tumblr_inline_mvi5oraYC41rgs66v
Me for the next week

Once summer school ends, I will be working throughout the week, but my job doesn’t require any work at home, so I will have free time after work.  I’ve compiled a list of things that I am hoping to do, and that I am looking forward to in the next ~6 weeks that I have left in Canada.

Pride
Pride Week Toronto is always a big deal! Last year I went to World Pride for the first time with some of my friends and it was a lot of fun.  Both at Glendon and York, as well as around Toronto there are lots events to celebrate.  Last night, my friend Alli and I went to the launch event and got to see Todrick Hall perform.  If you want to see what Glendon and GLGBT* is up to for Pride, make sure to keep checking out the GlendonCampus Snapchat Story (I have it as of Monday)!

10393673_640741492688298_1006953984962637216_n
YorkU Pride Float
10455761_640741029355011_5152698247536129513_n
Katie, Elle, Claire and I at World Pride Toronto

Pan Am Games
The Pan Am are being hosted in Toronto. As you may know if you follow me on Twitter, I quite enjoy large sporting events.  Toronto is getting a lot of infrastructure updates, and while that is causing quite the kerfuffle with traffic and other inconveniences, our city is going to greatly benefit from these improvements.  Toronto is also going to be full of visitors from around the world, and I’m sure that the excitement of the games and the diverse performances happening throughout the summer is going to bring a really great energy to the city.

2015_Pan_American_Games_logo.svg

Greenbank Trio (July 4, July 17)
My sister and I are the youngest on my dad’s side of the family, and all our cousins are are super cool.  My cousin, Luke, is in a band called the Greenbank Trio, he’s the drummer.  They have an Indie/Folk/Canadiana kind of vibe.  The band is based in Thunder Bay so it’s always really exciting when they come down to Toronto to play.  They’re playing on July 4th in Oshawa, and at the Pan Am Games on July 17th, and I’m hoping to go to both shows. Check them out here and here

1524695_547470685348713_1006547252_n
Greenbank Trio (December 2013)

Nicki Minaj (July 28)
I never disliked Nicki Minaj, and during frosh week, there was no doubt that Anaconda had every Glendonite dancing.  Then, in the winter Bryan and Aleks (your lovely Lion’s Den Coordinator) made me listen to Pinkprint and then the rest is history.  In March, when the tour was announced a bunch of us decided to get tickets for the show!tumblr_nokjt853fo1rnz1gso2_250

Caribana 
Caribana is the Caribbean festival that happens throughout the month of July and ends off with the Toronto Caribbean Carinival Parade on August 1st.  One of the things on my bucket list is going to Trinidad for Carnival, but I don’t know when that will happen, so this is the next best thing.  The music, the costumes, the colours; they’re all so beautiful, it’s hard not to want to “jump up”.

Caribana-The-Canadian-Press

James Bay/George Ezra (August 1)
My best friend from high school and I share a love of music, we’re basically musical soulmates.  We fell in love with George Ezra when we saw the Listen to the Man video with Ian MacKellen.  When I told her I couldn’t come to the George Ezra concert because I already had concert tickets for the summer (#poorstudentlife), she surprised me with tickets as my *early* birthday present! Did I mention that I have the best friends ever?

tumblr_ndvarnb1T01tmz7vbo2_500

Seeing Friends and Family 
In addition to attending all these cool events, I’m looking forward to seeing my family and friends before I set off to Middelburg for the year.  Some people I have hung out with, I know that I won’t see them again until I return next year.  Although, in the age of the internet, it’s not as sad to say goodbye your friends and family because there is almost a constant connection to each other via Facebook, Instagram, Skype and other modes of social media.

We managed to get all of us together one night via facetime
We managed to get all of us together one night via facetime

I feel very lucky to live in Toronto, especially this summer with all the fun things that are happening.  For those of you who are coming to Glendon from out of town, are there things that you want to do before you move out?  Toronto readers, do you have anything that you’re looking forward to doing before school starts?  Tell me about it in the comments, or tweet me @AshaCGL

Song of the Week: Trap Queen – Ed Sheeran and The Roots
Bonus Song of the Week: Hollaback Yoncé – Gwen Stefani vs. Beyoncé (Mashup)

Leave a Reply

