#OneWord365: Embrace

In an ideal world, I wouldn’t have as much homework as I do on this first weekend of the school year.  I would have time to clean my room, film a video, edit said video, and post that video on my blog for all of you lovely readers (or viewers).  Unfortunately, this weekend is not ideal, and I have an unreal amount of homework.  Instead of the post I had in mind (a tour of my room), I will participate in the #OneWord365 challenge that many of the lovely members of #TeamAwesome have posted.  #OneWord365 is a New Year’s Resolution type challenge, and as I only started school on January 25th, I feel like it’s the beginning of 2016.

The word I have chosen for 2016 is Embrace.  According the the Oxford Dictionary, embrace means to “accept willingly and enthusiastically.”  I think that this sentiment is a good one for the coming year.  2016 is going to be another year full of exciting changes, and while I tend to be a creature of habit, change is inevitable.  From what I can foresee in 2016, I am both excited, and scared for the year.  I have another semester of my exchange, and then upon returning home, I will be starting my fourth year of my undergrad.

embrace

Embracing opportunities is what I though of initially when I began to reflect on which word I wanted to choose.  Being on exchange, there are so many opportunities to learn, to travel, to experience, the list goes on.  I want to continue to say yes to new opportunities, and make as many memories as I can.  Whether that is a spontaneous trip somewhere, or just taking a night off and having a chill evening with friends, I want to be mindful of making the most of my semester.

Academically, I have chosen to take some interesting courses for International Studies, and I am taking Beginner Dutch.  In our Dutch class, we were all asked to write a paragraph about why we’re taking this class.  Within my answer, I shared that I wanted to accept the opportunity of learning Dutch (in a formal setting, rather than only my friends teaching me) so I can appreciate, and embrace the culture of the Netherlands.

Upon further thought, I realized that the idea of embracing also included embracing the challenges that the year will throw at me.  I have already faced some challenges with my housing arrangements, as there was some major miscommunication, but I embraced the challenge, and it is almost sorted out.  Returning home, and starting fourth year in September is going to also bring it’s own host of challenges.  I have to find a job (lol), and finish all my degree requirements so that I can graduate!  And seeing as I am not Professor Trelawney, I can’t predict the future in my tea leaves, or in my crystal ball, all I can do is go with the flow.

embrace the journey

The last aspect of the idea of Embrace that I have mulled over is embracing myself.  The last year or so, I have started to realize the things that make me insecure about myself, and understanding these things have started to make me feel better.  My goal for 2016 is to start to embrace these things that make me, well, me.  Some of these things will be easier than others, but the first step is always the most important, so my goal is to put one foot in front of the other, and embrace it.

So, returning to the Oxford definition of embrace, you can also find this definition – “Hold (someone) closely in one’s arms, especially as a sign of affection.”  HUGS! I fricken LOVE hugs.  They are my favourite part of the idea of embrace (and the least scary).  I hope for 2016 to be full of hugs for everyone!  I hope you all find people you love to hug, and that you can hug them all the time!

hug

Did you make any New Years Resolutions or have you thought about your #OneWord365? I’d love to hear from you in the comments, and together we can stay mindful of our #OneWord365! Make sure to check out the posts from the rest of the eAmbassador team about their One Word.  Here’s to a successful 2016! 😀

Song of the Week: Tidal Wave – SNOWMINE

One thought on “#OneWord365: Embrace

  1. Pingback: #OneWord365: Learn – Destination Graduation

Leave a Reply

