Active Procrastination

Raise your hand if you have been personally victimized by procrastination.  It’s never your fault, you just HAVE to watch that next Youtube video, or click on that next Buzzfeed article (why must you tempt me with puppies?).  So much time disappears as you consume such quality content from the internet.  However, while it is hard for me to resist the draw of the blue glows of Tumblr, Facebook, and Twitter, I have come to a realization that there are more ways to procrastinate than getting lost in the black hole that is the internet.

What is this realization for better procrastination you may ask? Well, as the title of this post insinuates, play sports! I’ve figured that the time that I am spending scrolling through Instagram while sitting with my friends and not doing homework, I could go play sports for an hour and a half.  I am taking full advantage of my Sports Pass by playing sports at least once a week.

It was this time last year when I realized how much I miss playing sports when  I participated in the RAGE Volleyball event as part of the Glendon team in the inter-college overnight volleyball competition at Keele Campus.  I told myself that I would try to play sports while at UCR and I have followed through with that!  Every Tuesday I play volleyball, two weeks ago I started playing basketball.  I’m getting much better at volleyball now that I am playing every week, and while I haven’t played basketball in ~6 years, I’m not completely terrible.  This week, I decided I would try to play field hockey – now keep in mind, I’ve never played hockey outside of gym class in elementary school… and that this isn’t normal hockey, it’s field hockey.  Different rules, different skills – it was quite the experience.  While it was more of me watching, than actually playing, it was a lot of fun; and I managed to get the ball a few times.

At Glendon, there are lots of opportunities to get involved with intramural and varsity sports. There’s everything from volleyball and basketball to inner tube water polo!  You get to stay active and meet a lot of students from both campuses.  If you’re hesitant about playing intramural sports, try out a RAGE event.  To get involved in intramurals, you can contact the VP Athletics for Glendon at vpathletics.gcsu.aecg@gmail.com If sports aren’t your thing, you can also get a membership for the Glendon Athletic Club for $15.

Glendon Team Photo

 

Song of the Week:
Future Feel – Why Not Y

And a super cool song we heard in Dutch class – there aren’t any lyrics, but it’s really pretty
Sorry – Kyteman

 

 

One thought on “Active Procrastination

Leave a Reply

