A Reply to 5 Questions To Ask A Student Ambassador

Last week, fellow eAmbassador Rebecca wrote an awesome post about what questions to ask a student ambassador when you are doing campus tours or visiting open houses.  I thought it would be fun to answer the questions that she posted, so if you can’t make it to an open house, you can have your questions answered; or you can hear more answers to the questions.  So, without further ado, here is my reply to 5 Questions To Ask A Student Ambassador.ouf.jpg

1. WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR FAVOURITE PART OF YOUR PROGRAM/ACADEMIC CAREER SO FAR? 

My favourite part of my program/academic career has hands down been my iBA components of my degree.  I love that Glendon offers the addition of an iBA to every program that is offered to our students.  The iBA consists of 3 requirements:  1) taking internationally oriented courses 2) taking a minimum of 18 credits in your non-dominant language (pour moi, c’est le français) and 3) studying abroad for one or two semesters at any school York University is partnered with.  

Because I am an International Studies (ILST) major, I don’t have to worry too much about the internationally oriented courses requirement, because all of my ILST courses are internationally oriented.  I have decided to embrace the French requirements because I enjoy the challenge of learning and improving upon my French language skills.  I enjoy learning in French, and I know that my oral and written competencies will be important in my future.  While my courses taught in French are not the easiest courses that I’ve taken, I do really enjoy them.  The exchange requirement of my degree was, hands down, the best experience of my life.  The opportunity to study abroad allowed me to gain new perspectives on the discourse of International Studies because both the students and professors had different experiences and thoughts to bring to the table.  In turn, I was able to bring my ideas from a Canadian perspective to the discussions as well.  I also got to travel, and I met some of the most incredible people that I now call my friends.    

IMG_4662

2. IF YOU COULD CHANGE ONE THING ABOUT YOUR SCHOOL/PROGRAM WHAT WOULD IT BE?

This isn’t exactly a change, but an addition.  I think that it would be really great to have an FSL program that is geared towards each program.  Right now the FSL program is a general program for non-francophone students to learn learn french, and that’s great because it starts from the beginning.  However, I think that it would be beneficial for students to learn vocabulary and formal communication for their field.  I understand that this is difficult with around 25 programs, but maybe even if it was in tutorial, if there was a more program specific focus, that would be a good addition.

3. WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR FAVORITE ON-CAMPUS EVENT? 

I have two favourite on-campus events, both are hosted by the International Studies Department.  The first one is the John W. Holmes Memorial Conference that happens once a year, I have attended two of the conferences, and both speakers were incredible.  In my first year we hosted Margret MacMillan, a Canadian historian, and author of Paris 1919.  As a smol first year, I was very excited because I had used her book in my high school history courses.  In my second year, we hosted Peter Mansbridge, who is an iconic Canadian broadcaster and news correspondent.  This was incredible because I’ve seen Peter Mansbridge on the news basically my whole life, and it was incredible to hear him speak at Glendon.

The other on-campus event that I absolutely love is the International Studies Symposium.  The Symposium is the annual research project and conference organized by a group of undergrad students in the International Studies Program.  The students choose a country as a group, do research on the country, and then organize the conference.   The big day is at the end of the school year, when they host guest speakers who are experts in their field and there are panels on all different topics that are related to the country of choice.  I’ve volunteered for the Symposium in first, and second year and it’s a great experience.

4. WHAT KIND OF SKILLS WILL I GAIN FROM ATTENDING THIS SCHOOL/PROGRAM?

The International Studies program will give you a holistic approach to analyzing the international system.  You get to learn, study, and analyze different parts of the international system, and in many courses, your research topics have parameters, but aren’t explicitly assigned to you.  I have written research papers based on my interests, and this has helped me stay passionate about my program.  

By attending Glendon, you will graduate with a recognized level of bilingualism.  While I was looking at other schools, if I wanted to keep up my French language development, I had to have a minor in French Studies.  I love that the bilingualism is built into all of the degrees at Glendon.  

5. HOW HAS THIS INSTITUTION SHAPED WHO YOU ARE AS A PERSON?

Glendon has become a place that I can now call home.  I have met some of the most incredible people and been taught by some very insightful professors and TAs.  Glendon has allowed me to develop my leadership skills; I have been a part of some incredible teams (including the eAmbassadors aka Team Awesome); and I have had the chance to expand my outlook both academically, and personally.  

cropped-2014-09-03-001-218.jpg

I hope that gives you more insight into life at Glendon.  I also hope that Rebecca’s original post, and my post help to make it easier to talk to student ambassadors during your campus visits and open houses!  Come visit us on Sunday November 6th for Fall Campus Day (register here).  

If you have any more questions leave a comment below, or tweet me at @AshaCGL

Song of the Week:

Young As The Morning, Old As The Sea – Passenger

3 thoughts on “A Reply to 5 Questions To Ask A Student Ambassador

  1. Pingback: 5 Questions to Ask a Student Ambassador if you Want to Look Like you Know what you’re Doing – The Rebecca Project ✦ A Glendon eambassador blog

  2. Pingback: Ontario University Fair: The Survival Kit | Tea & Textbooks

Leave a Reply

