21 Things I’ve Learned in 21 Years

This past Friday was my 21st birthday.  My birthday is October 21st, so it was also my champagne birthday, and my little sister planned a surprise party for me!  I always thought that 21 was so far away; the year 2016 was so hard to fathom, even 4 years ago.  I have mixed emotions about turning 21 – I’m happy because I’ve made it another year, and the past year has been one of the most amazing ones yet, and I’m legal all over the world now.  There are also some nervous feelings because I’m almost finished university and the future holds so much uncertainty.  But hey, they say “the older, the wiser,” so with that, here is some of the wisdom that I have gathered in my 21 years.

IMG_8693.JPG

1. Keep people you love around you

IMG_7593.JPG

2. Take risks

3. Say yes

4. Don’t be afraid to say no

5. Travel

6. Learn in different ways

7. Take pictures

12195760_1156205911074554_9034533287156180328_n

8. Smile at strangers

9. Say hi to people you know

10. Message friends, even if they’re bad at replying

11. Pat Puppies

img_4800

12. Listen to music that makes you happy

13. Wish on stars

14. Take selfies (it’s even more fun with friends)

15. Learn new languages

16. Self care is important

17. Explore your own culture, and learn about other cultures

(throwback to when I was smol… I was 16)

229760_123453544417098_5204289_n

18. Try new foods, and there’s always room for dessert

19. Be grateful

20. Live passionately and curiously

21. Be true to yourself

Those are a few of the things I’ve learned since 1995.  Here’s to learning new things every day, or at least every year 😉

Song(s) of the Week:
Hallelujah – Pentatonix (from their new Christmas album!!)
Real Unity – Machel Montano (from the Bazodee soundtrack)
Bad 4 Us – Superfruit

Note: Fall Campus Day is coming up on November 6th! Meet current students and faculty, take a campus tour, and take a selfie with Richard 😀

One thought on “21 Things I’ve Learned in 21 Years

  1. Shanti Sookdeo

    So happy to be in one of your “21 lessons learned:. I wish you every joy, every success along with good health. I hope you’re always surrounded with the love of God, family and friends.
    Love you Ash.
    Maasi.

Leave a Reply

